Chiang Mai – the latest grand adventure! I have been sorting out in my mind how we ended up in Chiang Mai, Thailand. It seems like when I find myself stuck in a situation that is not working for me, eventually I start to consider options that were not even on the table before. We had been back in Atlantic Beach, Florida for almost five years, and despite old and new connections made, I had the feeling that the phrase “you can’t go home again” applied to me. On the plus side, Jack was going to his memory class five hours a day two days a week, and that was working well for us. Finances were a concern, though, as well. I was around a number of people who were needing to use assisted living facilities, as well as hospitals and rehab facilities. Some of the stories were quite dismal, and I had already accumulated a few of my own with Jack’s health issues in recent years. I do Google searches spontaneously, and I did one on dementia care around the world. Up popped the Care Resort Chiang Mai! I liked the initial pictures of a beautiful tropical setting in the mountains, and the Care Resort owner’s values and vision for care resonated with me. I figured I would investigate it more down the line, but I kept moving on it. By the end of October, I had additional information, including pricing and types of villas to choose from. Then, we had our presidential election, and I figured there was no time like the present to start doing my research on the ground in Thailand!

Leave a Reply

